Ashland City Council

Ashland City Council


Government Agency - Industry

About Us

Council members meet at 7:00 p.m. the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month. Meetings are held on the 3rd floor of the Municipal Building at 206 Claremont Avenue in Ashland. In August, Council is in recess. All regular session meetings are open to the public. Work sessions and special sessions are scheduled as needed and are also open to the public. Announcements of all Council sessions are made through the media.

Ashland City Council is the legislative authority of the City of Ashland. As such, Council, by majority vote, constitutes the ultimate local authority in Ashland. The power to make local laws belongs only to City Council.
City Council approaches its work with a sincere desire to serve the public properly. No Council meeting starts without the Pledge of Allegiance to remind us all of our civic duties.

The Charter for the City of Ashland requires that elections for City Council be non-partisan.There are five City Council seats, one of which is at-large. Every registered voter in the City of Ashland may participate in the vote for at-large candidates.

A candidate for a ward seat must reside in that ward, and only the residents from that ward may participate in the vote for that ward seat.
The City is divided into four Wards.


  • Customer Service with a smile
  • Unlimited information
  • Archived information
  • Newcomers' resources


Dr. Stephen L. Stuart, President of Council, Council At-Large
Mr. Duane R. Fishpaw, Ward 1
Mr. Robert M. Valentine, Ward 2
Mrs. Ruth Detrow, Ward 3
Mrs. Sandra Tunnell, Ward 4
Ward 1
Ward 2
Ward 3
Ward 4